October Featured Athlete! Dustin Leer

9398_10151917089485761_1635828240_n

 

Dustin has been here for about 10 months, and has become one of the most consistently hard working athletes we’ve ever had. His first time here, he did our old intro WOD of a 500 M Row, 40 squats, 30 sit ups, 20 push ups and 10 pull ups, finished in about 20 minutes, and then proceeded to lie down for about an hour.  We weren’t sure if we should roll him out to the car or call an ambulance. So, 6 months later he finally worked up the courage to come back and has been here literally every day since.  Keep up the great work, Dustin!!!

What brought you here? I was looking for a way to get back in shape. I had gained over 50lbs in 3yrs of being married and was really tired of being tired all the time.

Did it meet the impression you had before you got here? Honestly, I didn’t even know what to expect. I had seen the CrossFit games on ESPN at a bar one time and wasn’t sure what CrossFit was all about except hard work and exercise.

What are you most proud of? I am most proud of the people I have met, through the CFL community. I’m proud of my lifts and all, but without the relationships with people that actually care they don’t mean much. Yeah you can pick heavy stuff up and that is cool and all, but when someone is there to tell you “Awesome Job”, give you a high five or give you that extra motivational push or help you tighten in on a movement that has been hard for you, man that is something awesome. So, yeah I’m most proud of the relationships at the box.

What are you working on now? I’m working on 175# snatch, Bar Muscle Up, Double Unders (always) and beating Tim Card at all the things .

What’s your favorite CFL memory? Memorial Day Murph. I was one of the last ones finishing up Murph and Brett O. came over and just cheer me on the entire time I finished that is deathly something that sticks in my head.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

