Confession Time!

Ok, I have a confession to make.  Not the kind that requires a Priest and 1,000 Hail Mary’s when I’m done.  I’m talking nutritional confessions. I have an addiction, not to heroin or alcohol or Little Debbie’s Oatmeal Cream Pies, but to something even more insidious.

It’s terrible.  They’re supposed to be good for you, right? They’re precision engineered, designed by science to deliver optimum nutritional benefit, and the perfect blend… Oh I can’t even type it. What a load of crap it all is.

So there, I’ve said it, put it out in the open, shed light upon it.  The truth is that this stuff can’t be much better for you than the actual chocolate chip cookies in the shelf right next to them, and they really don’t taste at all like cookie dough.  I can only imagine what would  happen if one tried to bake them?  In any event, it proves the point that substituting crap food (cookies) for quasi-goodforyou food (Met Rx Cookie dough) is about as satisfying as having sex with your clothes on…it’s frustrating, chafing, and just makes you want the real thing that much more.

So, from here on out, no more. No more quasi-food like products as a part of my diet.  How about you? Anyone else out there want to confess? I am sure that some of us have let some things slip back into our regular diet that we know shouldn’t be there.  I’m convinced that the best way to get it out of your belly is to get it out in the open, so let’s hear it…

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Confession Time!

  1. Mindy

    LOL! Here I thought I was on the edge for taking a Lara Bar on my bus trip yesterday! I’ve been pretty good. I can cite official paleo people who sanction my slips–wine, dark chocolate, heavy cream in my coffee. But I do have an ongoing and somewhat embarrassing love affair with Coke Zero. I love the bubbles. I love the sweetness. It’s the only vice I have left. Is it really that bad? I know I need to quit. Next week?

  2. Robbie

    Actually, I can fully and confidently say that since I’ve returned to crossfit I’ve been 100% supplement free. Nothing but 70% paleo diet (with guilty pleasure weekends within reason) and water.

  3. When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any approach you’ll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

  4. Dan

    I really miss (and sometimes slip and enjoy) the Myoplex RTD whey protein shakes – specifically chocolate. A full meal in a cardboard, purple container? Can’t beat that….

  5. Mangus

    *sigh* I confess. Oh Lordy, I have sinned against the paleo gods.

  6. Lisa

    I must confess that I eat a Lara bar for breakfast on a daily basis. I know that I should just take the extra 5 minutes and make scrambled eggs but the coconut ones are really good!! I am not going to buy anymore and force myself to make something.

Leave a Reply

